What is Jeep Trail Rated?

What is Jeep Trail Rated?

What is Jeep Trail Rated?

Jeep’s capability dates back to World War II when the United States Military enlisted the Willys MB. Fast forward 80 years and Jeep makes some of the most capable civilian vehicles in the world. Since 1994, the brand’s most capable vehicles have been distinguished by badges on the front quarter panels that say Trail Rated. The Wrangler and Gladiator both wear the Trail Rated badge at all trim levels. Meanwhile, the Cherokee, Compass, Grand Cherokee, and Renegade all have the Tralhawk trim that embodies the Jeep off-road spirit. The Trail Rated badge isn’t given to these trim levels; it is earned on some of the most rugged off-road terrain this world has to offer. The Jeep Trail Rated five-phase test is designed to take the test vehicle to its limits and beyond. Continue reading below to learn more about the Jeep Trail Rated program.

What are the five Trail Rated test phases?

The Trail Rated test is made up of five phases, water fording, maneuverability, traction, articulation, and ground clearance. Each test pushes the Jeep to its limits in the respective area to make sure it is up to standards.
Water Fording is how far in water the Jeep can go and still function properly. The tightly sealed electrical connections and the high location of the air intake among other features help the Trail Rated vehicles achieve depths of 30+ inches of water.
Maneuverability is how easy it is for the vehicle to navigate rough terrain and narrow trails while still being under control. This tests the vehicle’s wheelbase and steering systems.
Traction measures how the vehicle grips the surface underneath it. This puts Jeep’s legendary four-wheel-drive systems to the test with steep inclines and rock scrambles.
Articulation is how far the suspension of the test vehicle travels up and down to ensure all four wheels stay connected to the trail.
Ground Clearance measures the space between the bottom of the test vehicle to the ground beneath it. The test measures three angles, approach, breakover, and departure. The approach measures the distance from the bottom of the front of the car to the ground, breakover measures from the middle, and departure measures from the rear to see how large of rocks and logs the vehicle can pass over.

Why does Jeep test their Trail Rated vehicles?

Among everyday drivers, critics, and off-road enthusiasts, Jeep’s are held to high expectations. The Trail Rated test ensures that the Jeep vehicles that wear the badge still live up to the people’s expectations that drive them. When Jeep set out to create the Trail Rated program in 1994, the main goal was to instill confidence in their consumers by proving that the vehicles are as capable as they say they are.

Where do the Trail Rated tests take place?

In order to push their vehicles beyond their limits, Jeep required extreme terrain. And terrain doesn’t get much more extreme than the Rubicon Trail and the trails of Moab, Utah! The Rubicon Trail, found high in the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range, is subject to harsh weather and constant traffic, causing the terrain to change constantly. The steep slopes, large boulders, and streams make the Rubicon Trail the perfect testing site for all five test phases. Likewise, Moab features miles of rocky terrain with extremely steep inclines, uneven terrain, and many other features that make even expert off-roaders cringe and test the vehicle’s traction, maneuverability, articulation, and ground clearance.

Get a Trail Rated Jeep at Pinckney DCJR!

By now, you may be thinking why you could ever need a vehicle that can drive through up to 30 inches of water or over boulders. But if a Trail Rated Jeep can do that, it can handle anything you’ll ever need it to! If you’re interested in getting behind the wheel of a Trail Rated Jeep vehicle, come on down to Pinckney Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram to work with one of our sales professionals who would be happy to answer any of your questions and accompany you on a test drive. We look forward to working with you!